Forum Home Forum Home > Clematis > Postings
  Active Topics Active Topics
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Napaulensis

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Sue Reade View Drop Down

Quote Sue Reade Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Napaulensis
    Posted: 11 Jan 2007 at 7:33pm
Hello, I'm very new to this game but what I'd like is some advice on my Nepaulensis. I've had it for a couple of years now and it spends the winter in my porch and the summer outside. It has abundant green foiliage and looks very healthy but there is no sign of flower buds. Is it a matter of patience? I have sparingly fed it with tomato food as advised. Any ideas please?
Sue Reade
ton hannink View Drop Down

Quote ton hannink Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jan 2007 at 8:41pm
I have inspected my napaulensis but almost all the flowers are over. This year it is very early, have you had the same?
bcollingwood View Drop Down

Quote bcollingwood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2007 at 9:37pm
Mine is later, this year, Sue so you may still see flowers yet maybe; here are some from a previous year - they start like this...

then...

and..

After a little while:

they suddenly become very beautiful

followed of course, by:

A lovely clematis easy to grow from seed.

Edited by bcollingwood - 14 Jan 2007 at 11:18pm
Sue Reade View Drop Down

Quote Sue Reade Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jan 2007 at 7:55pm
Thanks to Brian and Ton. On my RHS course I have learnt that prunung can often produce flowers and I have heard Brian say such things too so I've taken the secateurs to it today and await the result.
Sue Reade
Sue Reade
richardh View Drop Down

Quote richardh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Jan 2007 at 9:04pm