Forum Home Forum Home > Clematis > Postings
  Active Topics Active Topics
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Ernest Markham and Grandiflora

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Gedly View Drop Down

Quote Gedly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Ernest Markham and Grandiflora
    Posted: 02 Apr 2010 at 7:04pm
I shall start by confessing that I am a clematis beginner.

I have bought myself 2 clematis for my little garden, a Montana Grandiflora and an Ernest Markham.

I have been doing some research about how to grow them best. Unfortunately I seem to have found some disagreement and so I am unsure as to what to do.

The garden centre I bought them at said that both are fine to be grown in large containers. However, the RHS website said that Ernest Markham should be grown in full sun, while the BBC Gardener's World website says that I should grow it on a shady wall.

I have a wooden fence which is in the full sun mornings and afternoons, a shaded brick wall and a wooden fence which just gets sun in the afternoons.

Any advice would be very welcome!

many thanks,

Ged.
Nunn00123 View Drop Down

Quote Nunn00123 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Apr 2010 at 5:47pm
Hello,